October 2018   
Saint Cecilia's Guild
President:: Kat Green

St Cecilia Guild


St. Cecilia is the patron saint of singers, organ builders, musicians and poets. She was martyred in Rome, c. 230. She is celebrated in the Lesser Feasts and Fasts of the Episcopal Church, on November 22nd. This is the Collect for her day:

"Most gracious God, whose blessed martyr Cecilia sang in her heart to strengthen her witness to you: We give you thanks for the makers of music whom you have gifted with Pentacostal fire; and we pray that we may join with them in creation's song of praise until at the last, with Cecilia and all your saints, we come to share in the song of those redeemed by our Savior Jesus Christ; who with you and the Holy Spirit lives and reigns, one God, in glory everlasting.  Amen."


Over the years, St. Cecilia's Guild has been devoted to helping the organist and choir with their ministries.  Membership is open to any woman in the church.  We meet for Christian fellowship in the Sara Snyder Guild Room on the second Tuesday at 10 am every month except during the summer. There are various guest speakers at the meetings including the Baytown City Manager Rick Davis and the Pilates instructor Danette Waldrop.


 On the second Tuesday in July we have a joint luncheon with husbands or family members at a local restaurant.  In December we have a joint Christmas dinner with our husbands and invited guests in a restaurant.  


We have dues of $20.00 each year and help finance many outreach projects in the church.  


Several years ago Sue Clay Williams and Suzanne Wilson started our annual field trips on Harris County buses.  We have visited Chinquapin School in Highlands, Dunham Bible Museum on the campus of Houston Baptist University, St. James House Silver Tea in Houston, Shangri La Gardens in Orange, TX, Brookwood in Brookshire, TX, St. Anthony's Basilica and St. Mark's Episcopal Church in Beaumont, Grace and Trinity Episcopal churches in Galveston, and The Museum of Fine Arts in Houston to see the King Tut Exhibit.


The present officers are: 

President:  Kat Green

Treasurer:   Carolyn Polumbo  Secretary: Gloria Matherne